18 countries compete for £30K LGBT short film prize

10th August 2015: Press release

17 year-old Lucas Helth Postma (pictured) from Denmark becomes the youngest Iris Prize finalist. Boy, his accomplished short film is one of three from Denmark competing for the 2015 Iris Prize. The film tells the story of 16-year-old Emilie who has always been a boy inside although his mother cannot accept the way he feels. During an Easter lunch he decides to do something drastic, which has its consequences.

Organisers of the Iris Prize, supported by The Michael Bishop Foundation have today (10/08/2015) announced the 30 films competing for the £30,000 prize, which continues to be the world’s largest international LGBT short film prize.

The films will screen during this year’s Iris Prize Festival which takes place from October 7th – 11th in Cardiff, Wales, (UK). The winner of the Iris Prize will be announced on Sunday 11 October 2015 during the Iris Awards hosted by Amy Lamé.

“Once again the shortlist for the Iris Prize represents the best of the best. 20 of the short-listed films have been nominated by our partner festivals, including for the first time ShanghaiPRIDE in China. These film festivals from around the world have their fingers on the pulse of upcoming LGBT filmmaking talent.  I’m confident that amongst this year’s shortlist of live action, documentaries and animated films we have yet another winner deserving of the Iris Prize,” said Andrew Pierce, Festival Chair.

“Iris is recognised for supporting talented film makers from all over the world. Seven shorts, made with the prize, have been produced since we launched in 2006. Iris is more than just a trophy that gathers dust or a certificate that yellows on the wall. Iris is what film makers need – funding, support and guidance,” added Andrew.

“It’s great to see films from all over the world represented in the shortlist with an entry for the first time from the Czech Republic joining work from Canada, Germany, Brazil, Israel, Norway, The Netherlands, Ireland, India, Australia, US, Portugal, New Zealand, Mexico, Chile, Denmark, and the UK all making it through to the final. The US once again secures the largest number of films in competition with an impressive 8 out of the final 30 with Denmark in second place with three films,” said Andrew.

The 30 films competing for the 2015 Iris Prize are:

A Straight Journey – days and nights in their kingdom
Dir. Masamojo
Country: China

Boa Noite Cinderela – Goodnight Cinderella
Dir. Carlos Conceicao
Country: Portugal

Dir. Meg Smaker
Country: USA

Dir. Lucas Helth Postma
Country: Denmark

Dir. Vibeke Heide

Dir. Shawn Ryan

Dir. Sarah Smith
Country: USA

Dir. Dean Loxton
Country: UK

Elgin Park
Dir. Danny Yourd
Country: USA

En Eftermiddag – An Afternoon
Dir. Soren Green
Country: Denmark

Falling Angels
Dir. Maria Winther Olsen
Country: Denmark

First Clue
Dir. Susan Sullivan
Country: USA

Dir. Luis Hernández de la Peña
Country: Mexico

Dir. Martin Edralin
Country: Canada

Dir. Tony Radevski
Country: Australia

Dir. Yoav Brill
Country: Israel

In The Hollow
Austin Bunn
Country: USA

Intrinsic Moral Evil
Dir. Harm Weistra
Country:The Netherlands

No Strings
Dir. Eoin Maher
Country: UK

Dir. Ondrej Hudecek
Country: Czech Republic

San Cristobal
Dir. Omar Zuniga Hidalgo
Country: Chile

Dir. Samuel Leighton-Dore
Country: Australia

Sobre Papeis – Paper and Jeans
Dir. Pedro Paulo De Andrade
Country: Brasil

Dir. Rohan Kanawade

The Little Deputy
Dir. Trevor Anderson
Country: Canada

Dir. Guy Sahaf
Country: Israel

Tits on a Bull
Dir. Tim Worrall
Country: New Zealand

Dir. Jeremy Asher
Country: USA

Dir. Arkasha Stevenson
Country: USA

Way to Hell – Fahrt Zur Holle
Dir. Henning Beckoff
Country: Germany


The 2015 Iris Prize Festival will present 6 main awards:

  1. The Iris Prize – Cardiff’s International LGBT short film prize supported by The Michael Bishop Foundation is valued at £30,000 and remains the only short film prize in the world which allows the winner to make a new film.
  2. Iris Prize Best British Short sponsored by Pinewood Studios Group and valued at £14,000 will be presented for the second time in 2015.
  3. Iris Prize Best Feature Award valued at £1,000 is sponsored by Martin Brigs and presented to the best new feature screened at the festival.
  4. Best Actor in a Feature sponsored by Gay Star News
  5. Best Actress in a Feature sponsored by Gay Star News
  6. Iris Prize Youth Jury Award sponsored by Cardiff University and presented to one of the short films as selected by a jury of 10 between the ages of 14 and 17.

Important Dates:

Further Details:
Berwyn Rowlands, Tel: +44 (0)29 20232744, Mobile: +44 (0) 7860 818294
Email: berwyn@thefestivalscompany.co.uk  

Notes to Editors:

The Iris Prize – Cardiff’s International LGBT Short Film Prize is supported by The Michael Bishop Foundation and continues to be the only LGBT short film prize in the world which allows the winner to make a new film. Iris is what film makers need – funding, support and guidance. The winner receives £30,000 to make their next short film in the UK. 

Past winners, include Dee Rees (US) – 2007, Till Kleinert (Germany) – 2008, Eldar Rapaport (Israel/US) – 2009, Magnus Mork (Norway) – 2010, Daniel Ribeiro (Brazil) – 2011, Grant Scicluna (Australia) – 2012 and Tim Marshall (Australia) – 2013 and Brendan McDonall (Australia) 2014.