10. Appendices A-C

Appendix A – Suggestions for Venues

- Develop a partnership with a local charity or community group that has connection with the families of children with disabilities.
 

(A list of some Wales-based children’s charities can be found in the Contacts section.)
 

- Make contact with local SEN schools, or the SEN co-ordinator or local mainstream schools. Information about schools can be found on local authority websites.
 

- Consider adjusting the screening environment to meet the differing sensory needs of disabled children.
 

(A list of potential adjustments can be found on the Dimensions website: https://www.dimensions-uk.org/families/autism-friendly-screenings/)
 

- Encourage customer-facing staff to take the time to speak to families with disabled children that come in to screenings, and if appropriate ask them if there are any additional steps that you can take to make their visit more enjoyable.
 

- Bear in mind that parents with disabled children might need assistance, but might be unwilling to ask for it. Even if they don’t need assistance, they often appreciate being asked if they do.
 

- Ensure that any information about disabled access is clearly available on your website (including information about where to park).
 

- Consider putting together a social story about your venue. This is a simple way of introducing your venue to children on the autism spectrum, which might make their visit easier.
 

(An example of a social story, and a template to create your own social story can be found on the Dimensions Autism Friendly Screenings webpage: https://www.dimensions-uk.org/families/autism-friendly-screenings/)
 

- Consider making your venue available for visits from families or classes outside of normal opening hours, so that they can get to know your venue when it is quiet.
 

- Be aware that the needs of an individual family with a disabled child/children may be very different from those of any other family, and that the best way that you will find out what those needs are is by being open to communicating with them. 
 

- Consider having a larger disabled toilet with bed and hoist. Contact Changing Places http://www.changing-places.org/ for information about this and possible costs/grants. You will increase the number of visits from families with disabled children / adults and organisations who care for people with complex needs.

 

Appendix B – Useful Contacts

Hynt - http://www.hynt.co.uk/en/
 

CEA Card - https://www.ceacard.co.uk/
 

National Autistic Society - http://www.autism.org.uk/
 

National Autistic Society local branches - http://www.autism.org.uk/services/local/wales.aspx
 

Mencap - https://www.mencap.org.uk/wales
 

Mencap local branches - https://www.mencap.org.uk/local-groups
 

Barnado’s - http://www.barnardos.org.uk/
 

Afasic Cymru - http://www.afasiccymru.org.uk/
 

Afasic Cymru local groups - http://www.afasiccymru.org.uk/parents/local-parent-support-groups/
 

Dimensions - https://www.dimensions-uk.org/
 

Picturehouse - https://www.picturehouses.com/
 

Film Hub Wales - http://www.filmhubwales.org/
 

Contact a Family Cymru - http://www.cafamily.org.uk/wales
 

Action for Children - https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/
 

SNAP Cymru - http://www.snapcymru.org/
 

Whizzkidz - http://www.whizz-kidz.org.uk/
 

NSPCC - https://www.nspcc.org.uk/
 

Youngminds - http://www.youngminds.org.uk/
 

RNIB - http://www.rnib.org.uk/wales
 

NDCS National Deaf Children’s Society - www.ndcs.org.uk/wales
 

BFI Diversity Fund - http://www.bfi.org.uk/supporting-uk-film/bfi-film-fund/funding-production-development/diversity-fund
 

Wellcome Trust - http://www.wellcome.ac.uk/Funding/index.htm
 

Changing Places - http://www.changing-places.org/

 

Appendix C – List of venues used for Contact a Family screening event scheme, February 2013 – November 2015
 

Aberystwyth Arts Centre, Aberystwyth (https://www.aberystwythartscentre.co.uk/)
 

Blackwood Miner’s Institute, Blackwood (https://your.caerphilly.gov.uk/bmi/content/welcome)
 

Chapter, Cardiff (http://www.chapter.org/)
 

Coliseum, Aberdare (http://coliseum.rct-arts.org/)
 

Coliseum, Brecon (http://www.coliseumbrecon.co.uk/)
 

Dragon Theatre, Barmouth (http://www.dragontheatre.co.uk/)
 

Ffwrnes, Llanelli (http://www.theatrausirgar.co.uk/en/)
 

Glyndwr University, Wrexham (http://www.glyndwr.ac.uk/en/events/)
 

Grand Pavilion, Porthcawl (http://www.grandpavilion.co.uk/)
 

Memo Arts Centre, Barry (http://www.memoartscentre.co.uk/)
 

Memo, Newbridge (http://www.newbridgememo.co.uk)
 

Metropole, Abertillery (http://www.the-met.co.uk/)
 

Neuadd Dwyfor, Pwllheli (https://www.gwynedd.llyw.cymru/en/Residents/Leisure-parks-and-events/Cinemas-and-theatres/Neuadd-Dwyfor,-Pwllheli.aspx)
 

Odeon, Bridgend (http://www.odeon.co.uk/cinemas/bridgend/70/)
 

Parc and Dare, Treorchy (http://parkdare.rct-arts.org/en/whats-on/)
 

Pavilion, Llangollen (http://llangollenpavilion.co.uk/)
 

Pontardawe Arts Centre, Pontardawe (http://www.pontardaweartscentre.com/)
 

Redhouse, Merthyr Tydfil (http://www.redhousecymru.com/)
 

Riverfront, Newport (https://tickets.newportlive.co.uk/)
 

Savoy, Monmouth (http://www.monmouth-savoy.co.uk/)
 

Scala Theatre, Prestatyn (http://prestatyn.scalacinemas.co.uk/)
 

TAPE, Colwyn Bay (http://tapemusicandfilm.co.uk/)
 

Theatr Clwyd, Mold (https://www.theatrclwyd.com/en/)
 

Theatr Colwyn, Colwyn Bay (http://www.theatrcolwyn.co.uk/)
 

Theatr Gwaun, Fishguard (http://theatrgwaun.com/)
 

Theatr Hafren, Newtown (http://www.thehafren.co.uk/)
 

Theatr Mwldan, Cardigan (http://www.mwldan.co.uk/)
 

Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury (http://www.theatresevern.co.uk/)
 

Torch Theatre, Milford Haven (http://torchtheatre.co.uk/)
 

Ucheldre, Holyhead (http://www.ucheldre.org/allevent.htm)
 

Venue Cymru, Llandudno (https://www.venuecymru.co.uk/)
 

Vue, Carmarthen (http://www.myvue.com/latest-movies/cinema/carmarthen)
 

Vue, Cwmbran (http://www.myvue.com/latest-movies/cinema/cwmbran)
 

Waterfront Museum, Swansea (http://www.museumwales.ac.uk/swansea/)
 

Y Galeri, Caernarfon (http://www.galericaernarfon.com/)
 

YourSpace, Chirk (http://yourspacemarches.co.uk/)


Go back to 9. RECOMMENDATIONS

DOWNLOAD THE FULL REPORT BELOW:

Cinema Provision in Wales for Families with Disabled Children Report.pdf